UN General Assembly adopts Resolution on the Rights of the Child recommending the renewal of the SRSG mandate for a further period of three years

New York 3 December 2012 - The SRSG welcomes the adoption by the General Assembly of the United Nations of the Omnibus Resolution on the Rights of the Child and reaffirms her strong commitment to pursue her global advocacy work to break the invisibility and impunity surrounding incidents of violence against children across regions.

The Third Committee of the United Nations General Assembly approved by consensus the omnibus resolution on the promotion and protection of the rights of children (A/RES/67/152). The resolution recommends that the Secretary-General extend the mandate of the Special Representative on Violence against Children for a further period of three years and decides that for the effective performance of the mandate and the sustainability of the core activities the mandate of the SRSG shall be funded from the regular budget starting at the biennium 2014-2015.

The omnibus resolution was co-sponsored by: Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Barbados, Belarus, Belgium, Belize, Benin, Bolivia (Plurinational State of), Brazil, Bulgaria, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Côte d’Ivoire, Cuba, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Kazakhstan, Latvia, Lebanon, Liberia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Madagascar, Maldives, Mali, Malta, Mexico, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia,  Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Norway, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, the Republic of Korea, Romania, Rwanda, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Suriname, Swaziland, Sweden, Tajikistan, Togo, Trinidad and Tobago, Uganda, Ukraine, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, the United Republic of Tanzania, Uruguay, Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of) and Zambia.