玛尔塔·桑托斯·派斯

 

任务

  我对秘书长任命我为其负责暴力侵害儿童问题特别代表深感荣幸。我坚定承诺将与所有相关利益攸关方密切合作,确保履行我的任务。

  过去二十年来,在促进儿童权利、保护儿童免遭暴力侵害、虐待和剥削方面出现了重大变化。各方遵循《儿童权利公约》和其他重要的儿童权利国际标准,确立了保护儿童权利的法律、政策和机构,推动采取了重要的宣传举措,并更广泛地提高了公众对阻碍儿童发展和安全的诸多风险的认识。

  暴力行为正是这样的一种阻碍因素,并且仍是全世界成百万儿童不得不面对的严峻现实。保护儿童免遭暴力侵害迫在眉睫,要求各方采取紧急行动。暴力行为可能发生在所有情况下,包括儿童原本应享有安全环境和特别保护的场所,如照料机构、学校和家庭。暴力一旦发生,即刻会造成伤害,并留下深刻的伤痕和终身后果,损害儿童的发展、学习能力和学习成绩。

  要有效保护儿童免遭暴力侵害,惟有通过与所有相关利益攸关方,如联合国伙伴、民间社会(包括儿童和青年)、各国政府、区域组织、议员和关注儿童权利的独立国内机构开展对话。我们的任务至关重要,我们必须带着紧迫感、充满耐心地向前迈进。

 

履历

  玛尔塔·桑托斯·派斯于2009年5月1日被任命为负责暴力侵害儿童问题秘书长特别代表,于2009年9月1日就任。作为一名独立的高级别全球倡导者,玛尔塔·桑托斯·派斯倡导在司法环节及家庭、照料机构、学校、工作场所和社区中防止和消除一切形式的暴力侵害儿童行为。她在各区域、各部门和各种可能发生暴力侵害儿童的场景中发挥着桥梁沟通作用。

  自上任以来,她一直坚定致力于动员各方采取行动、提供政治支持,以保持该议程的势头,并推动世界各地取得稳步进展。玛尔塔·桑托斯·派斯拥有30多年从事人权工作、参与联合国和政府间进程的经验。她在人权和儿童权利方面著述颇丰。在被任命为负责暴力侵害儿童问题秘书长特别代表之前,玛尔塔·桑托斯·派斯自2001年以来一直担任儿基会因诺琴蒂研究中心主任。她于1997年加入儿基会,担任评价、政策和规划司司长。在此之前,她曾担任儿童权利委员会报告员、欧洲理事会儿童政策协调委员会副主席、暴力侵害儿童问题联合国研究报告特别顾问和武装冲突对儿童的影响问题马谢尔研究报告特别顾问。她还曾担任1989年《儿童权利公约》及其任择议定书联合国起草小组成员,并参与制定了其他重要的国际人权标准。

Marta Santos Pais

I am honoured to have been appointed by the Secretary-General as his Special Representative on Violence against Children and I am deeply committed to collaborating closely with all relevant stakeholders for the implementation of my mandate.

The past two decades have been marked by significant change in the promotion of the rights of the child and in the protection of children from violence, abuse and exploitation. Guided by the Convention on the Rights of the Child and other important international child rights standards, laws, policies and institutions have been developed to protect children’s rights; important advocacy initiatives have been promoted; and wider awareness has been raised of the many risks that hinder children’s development and safety.

Violence is one such hampering factor and remains a harsh reality for millions of children around the world. The imperative to protect children from violence calls for urgent action. Violence takes place in all contexts, including where children are expected to enjoy a secure environment and special protection - in care institutions, in the school and within the home. Violence hurts when it happens and leaves dramatic scars and lifelong consequences, impairing children’s development, learning abilities and school performance.

Protection of children against violence can only be efficient if it is done in dialogue with all relevant stakeholders, such as United Nations partners, civil society including children and young people, national governments, regional organizations, parliamentarians and national independent institutions on children’s rights. Our task is critical and we must move ahead with a sense of urgency and impatience.

Biography

Marta Santos Pais was appointed as Special Representative of the Secretary-General on Violence against Children (SRSG) on May 1st, 2009, and took up her position on September 1st, 2009. As a high level global independent advocate, Marta Santos Pais promotes the prevention and elimination of all forms of violence against children in the justice setting, in the home, in institutional care, in schools, in the workplace and in the community. She acts as a bridge builder in all regions, and across sectors and settings where violence against children may occur. 

Since her appointment, she has been strongly committed to mobilizing action and political support to maintain momentum around this agenda and to achieve steady progress across the world. Marta Santos Pais has more than 30 years experience on human rights issues, engagement in United Nations and intergovernmental processes. She is the author of a large number of publications on human rights and children's rights. Before her appointment as SRSG on Violence against Children, Marta Santos Pais was the Director of the UNICEF Innocenti Research Centre, a position she held since 2001. She joined UNICEF in 1997 as Director of Evaluation, Policy and Planning. Previously, she was the Rapporteur of the Committee on the Rights of the Child and Vice-Chair of the Coordinating Committee on Childhood Policies of the Council of Europe. She was a Special Adviser to the UN Study on Violence against Children and to the Machel Study on the Impact of Armed Conflict on Children. She was also a member of the UN Drafting Group of the 1989 Convention on the Rights of the Child and of its Optional Protocols and participated in the development of other key international human rights standards.